Eulogy

empty_benchThat’s where I miss you the most
It’s not in the shower when I washed your back
It’s not cooking dinner together in the cramped kitchen
Nor the times we spent kissing under the moon lit sky
I miss you most
When we were at our worst
The vivid emotional hell
The times when we cried
I miss the days when you’d run out
And I’d chase after you
Just so I could hold you like I’d never see you again
I miss meeting you for the first time
Because everything was ahead of us
Nothing in the past mattered
Now it’s all backwards and stupid
Like those fun-house mirrors
Only it’s not fun anymore
Now everything in the past matters
That’s where you are
Sitting on that empty bench
Waiting to see me again
Waiting for my future to be someone else’s past

3 thoughts on “Eulogy

Leave a Reply

